DUI Penalties for Minors

Get Aggressive Defense from a Marietta DUI Attorney

Georgia, like most states, has a strict a zero tolerance policy when minors are caught driving while under the influence of alcohol. Due the overwhelming amount of deaths that occur as a result of minors crashing while driving under the influence, penalties for minors can result in fines, license suspension, and court-ordered clinical therapy. If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI as a minor, it is imperative you contact a skilled Marietta DUI attorney as soon as possible.

We can help! –Call our today to schedule your free consultation.

In Georgia, it is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to consume alcohol unless the following are true:

  • You are on a non-alcohol selling, private property with the consent of a legal guardian. For example, if you were at a wedding and your parent or guardian gave permission.
  • For medical purposes
  • For religious purposes – for example drinking wine as part of religious ceremony

Penalties

In Georgia, DUI penalties for minors are broken out into two different age groups.

Drivers Age 15 and Younger

  • First Offense
    • Driver’s license suspended until 17
    • $210 fine
    • DUI alcohol and drug risk reduction program
  • Second Offense
    • License suspended until 18
    • $310 fine
    • DUI alcohol and drug risk reduction program
  • Third Offense
    • License suspended until 18
    • $410 fine
    • DUI alcohol and drug risk reduction program

Drivers Age 16 to 20

  • First Offense
    • If BAC is under .08%: license suspension for up to 6 months and 20 hours community service
    • If BAC over .08%: license suspension for up to 12 months and 40 years community service
    • $210 fine
    • DUI alcohol and drug risk reduction program m
  • Second Offense (within 5 years)
    • 18-month license suspension
    • $310 fine
    • DUI alcohol and drug risk reduction program
    • Clinical evaluation and treatment
    • Ignition interlock device and permit with court permission
  • Third DUI Offense (within 5 years)
    • 5 years suspension of license
    • $410 fine
    • DUI alcohol and drug risk prevention program
    • Clinical evaluation and treatment
    • IID installed with court permission

Arrested? Call 888.816.4396

With over 40 years of combined legal experience, and as former prosecutors, our Marietta DUI attorneys can help you build the best defense for your case. Our case evaluations are always free. Contact our offices to schedule an evaluation today.

Contact Henrickson & Sereebutra, LLC

They will go the extra mile in order to meet and exceed your expectations

Send My Information