First Time DUI Attorney in Marietta
Minimizing the Damage of Your DUI Arrest
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence for the first
time, you may not understand why you were arrested. You may also not understand
the full consequences of the charges against you. The Marietta DUI lawyers at
Henrickson & Sereebutra, LLC have
handled thousands of criminal cases and helped clients confront DUI charges of all kinds.
Contact the firm immediately and minimize the damage of a DUI conviction!
Preventing Automatic License Suspension
refuse to submit to a breath test during the arrest? According to the law of implied consent, drivers who
refuse a chemical blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test may have their license
automatically suspended by the police officer. Your driver's license could also be suspended
immediately after being arrested, or as part of a DUI conviction punishment.
In any case, if your license was suspended, you need to take action immediately!
You only have ten days after your license was suspended to request an appeal hearing with the Georgia Department of Driver Services. If you do not request
it in time, your license will be suspended for the full duration—6
months to more than 1 year.
Minimizing the Penalties of a DUI
Georgia drivers may be arrested for DUI with a BAC level in the following
- .08% or higher for drivers over the age of 21
- .04% or higher for commercial motor vehicle drivers
- .02% or higher for drivers under the age of 21
Remember that an arrest is not the same as a conviction. The police officer
may believe you were operating a vehicle while intoxicated, but the evidence
will have to stand in a court of law. With a strong defense from a skilled
criminal lawyer, you may be able to
challenge the evidence against you—including chemical test evidence—and have the charges reduced
or dismissed entirely. Law enforcement and court officials take DUI law
very seriously, so it is vital that you retain dedicated legal protection
for your trial and license suspension hearing.
A first-time DUI conviction comes with the following penalties and expenses:
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- Up to 1 year in jail or prison
- License suspension
- Restricted driving privileges
- 40 hours of community service
- $210 fee to reinstate driver's license
- Alcohol or drug education program
Your Unique Situation Deserves Personalized Defense
There is no cure-all strategy that can solve every case. Your DUI case
is unique—the circumstances of your arrest and the evidence that
may be brought against you in court call for a personalized approach.
A Marietta DUI lawyer who works tirelessly to investigate the incident
and develops a defense that challenges weak evidence is a vital edge that many individuals accused of a serious crime can benefit
from having in their corner.
Henrickson & Sereebutra, LLC's legal team has
more than 40 years of collective experience in DUI defense. As former prosecutors, they have working knowledge of the law that allows
them to anticipate the charges that are brought against their clients,
and can use that knowledge to strengthen their clients' defenses.
Contact the firm at 888-816-4396 or
schedule a free consultation online and take measures to protect your future!