Underage DUI Lawyer in Marietta

Let Our Firm Defend Your Child's Future

If you or your child has been arrested for driving with a blood alcohol content of .02% or greater, do not delay in taking action. The penalties for a DUI conviction can cause serious repercussions throughout your child's life, potentially resulting in disqualification for a scholarship or even admission to certain universities, as well as a criminal record which could make it difficult to find suitable employment. You need a hard-hitting criminal defense attorney who can defend your child's rights and fight to clear the charges.

Contact Henrickson & Sereebutra, LLC for a free consultation.
Our Marietta DUI defense attorneys have handled thousands of cases!

What are the penalties for underage DUI in Georgia?

Most drivers in Georgia can operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration as high as .08% without being arrested for DUI, provided that their ability to operate a vehicle is not impaired by alcohol. Underage drivers, however, are subject to a driver's license suspension when any amount of alcohol is detected by a chemical test of the breath or blood. An underage drunk driving offense is punishable by a driver's license suspension lasting six months, or twelve months in cases where the BAC was above .08%.

Penalties for a first underage DUI conviction (BAC above .02%):

  • Jail time will not be mandatory
  • Between $300 and $1,000 in fines
  • License suspension for six months
  • 20 hours of community service

Penalties for a first underage DUI conviction (BAC above .08%):

  • Minimum of 24 hours in jail
  • Between $300 and $1,000 in fines
  • License suspension for one year
  • 40 hours of community service

Penalties for a second underage DUI conviction (BAC above .02%):

  • Minimum of three days in jail
  • Between $600 and $1,000 in fines
  • License suspension for three years
  • 30 hours of community service

Additionally, a conviction in the present case may count as a prior offense in the event that your child is arrested for driving under the influence in the future—which would lead to increased penalties. Whether your child is facing a driver's license suspension or is also at risk of being sent to jail, it is advisable that you retain a DUI attorney in Marietta as early as possible. Don't make the mistake of thinking that the only option is to accept a plea bargain; there may be a way to have the case dismissed!

How a DUI Conviction Could Affect Your Insurance

If you or your child is convicted of an underage DUI offense, you may run into problems with your auto insurance. Some insurance companies will terminate your policy outright, while others will refuse to renew it. If the insurance company agrees to renew your policy, they may raise the cost of your monthly premium by $200 or more—since you would be considered "high risk." Furthermore, you may even need to provide the Georgia DMV with an SR-22 certificate in order to reinstate your driver's license if it has been suspended.

For this reason, it is imperative that you let a DUI lawyer from Henrickson & Sereebutra, LLC fight your underage DUI charges. Not only can we provide representation from a former prosecutor, but our firm can put more than four decades of collective legal experience to work for you. Furthermore, when you come to our firm for help with your criminal charges, you will never be treated like just another case number. Contact our office today to find out what our dedicated legal team can do for you; there is no time to waste!

Take action now by contacting the firm for a free consultation.

Contact Henrickson & Sereebutra, LLC

They will go the extra mile in order to meet and exceed your expectations

Send My Information