Penalties for DUI Offenses in Georgia
Protecting Yourself Against a Conviction with Our Marietta Criminal Defense Lawyer
Are you facing
charges for DUI? Unsure of what penalties you may be dealing with? Let the compassionate
and zealous legal team at Henrickson & Sereebutra inform you of the
potential consequences and help equip you for your defense. With more
than 40 years of combined experience under their belts, they know how
to effectively handle these types of cases.
The Marietta DUI lawyers at their firm can
review your case today and help you determine the penalties you are facing. From there, they
can assist you with crafting a strategic and effective defense.
What type of penalties am I facing for DUI?
Each state has different penalties for drunk driving or impaired driving
charges. In Georgia, the laws are very strict, especially for
repeat offenders. No matter what type of DUI charge you are facing, it is crucial that
you take fast legal action to protect your rights and driving privileges.
For any driver over the age of 21, .08% is all it takes to get charged
with DUI. A commercial driver faces an even stricter BAC of .04%, while
underage drivers cannot show more than .02%.
The penalties associated with DUI include:
First offense: Between 24 hours and a year in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and a license
suspension for up to a year
Second offense: Between 3 days and a year of jail time, up to $1,000 in fines, a 3-year
license suspension, and a mandatory ignition interlock device if ordered by court
Third offense: Between 15 days and a year in jail, up to $5,000 in fines, a license suspension
of 5 year, and a mandatory IID installation
Fourth offense: Between 1 and 5 years in jail, up to $5,000 in fines, an indefinite license
suspension, and mandatory IID installation.
How Does a DUI Affect Commercial Drivers?
Once a driver with a CDL is arrested, their license could be forfeited
for a certain amount of time, potentially for life. This could be devastating
for any driver as they typically rely on driving to earn a living and
Your first DUI will likely result in losing your CDL for one year; on top
of this, you could be forced to perform 40 hours of community service
and be fined upwards of $1,000. Further DUI arrests will only result in
worse penalties, including jail time, especially if your blood alcohol
is above 0.08%.
On top of these penalties, if you choose to refuse to submit to a test
of your blood, breath, or urine during your arrest, the Department of
Driver Services mandates that you be barred from driving a commercial
vehicle for a year. Your refusal can also be used against you by the prosecution
as potential evidence of your guilt since a police officer can arrest
you for DUI even if they did not check your blood alcohol level.
Secure Dedicated Representation from a Criminal Defense Team
Each case is different and a skilled DUI attorney in Marietta may be able
to negotiate with the prosecution in certain cases, obtaining a much more
favorable outcome or ruling. Whether you are
facing a first or third offense, be sure to
call on the firm for aggressive counsel and dedicated legal defense.